Idea

Over the first week of IP, I narrowed down my ideas. I was thinking about doing paintings of face expressions by using contradictory colors to confuse the viewers, but during the first critique with whole class, I came across with an idea that meanings of each colors are not same with everyone, and would be really difficult to expect what the viewers might think. So I began to explore more about how to use colors on its own. Then I thought of making just abstract paintings of my own feelings and thoughts. Small group critiques and listing down the things that I am interested, helped me a lot to clear things out for myself. My top 3-5 were color and emotion, conveying expression, communicating my personal ideas, and various scales of paintings. For the daily practices I am working on how I feel each day and why; like a journal, using colors. Then I would choose 10-20 combinations of colors from my practices and make it into several paintings. I am going to paint in different sized canvas, since sizes would also give different impression and symbolize my moods of the day. As my first steps of getting started is  researching on painters that Janie and Seth recommended me, and keep writing/ painting my daily practices.

Leave a comment